Stone Professors

Davis Center logo

The Davis Center established the Visiting Stone Professorship in 2001 to commemorate Lawrence Stone, the Center's founding director. Each year, the Center invites distinguished historians in different fields to visit the History Department for one to two week periods.

The Visiting Stone Professors deliver lectures on their ongoing research, meet with students, and discuss their experiences as historians with faculty and graduate students. This program offers unique opportunities for not only showcasing exemplary historical research but also for learning about and learning from the professional lives of extraordinarily accomplished historians.

The three lectures given by the Stone Professor serve as the foundation for a volume subsequently published by Princeton University Press.


Visiting Stone Professor for 2023

Gregg Mitman, Spring 2023

Past Stone Professors

Maya Jasanoff, Fall 2021
Mae Ngai, Fall 2018
Lyndal Roper, Spring 2017
Frederick Cooper, Spring 2016
Chris Clark, Spring 2015
Lorraine Daston, Spring 2014
Chris Wickham, Spring 2013
Stuart B. Schwartz, Fall 2012
Ayesha Jalal, Spring 2011
Kenneth Pomranz, Spring 2010
Thomas J. Sugrue, Spring 2009
Mark Mazower, Spring 2008
Cemal Kafadar, Spring 2007
Steven Hahn, Spring 2006
Rashid Khalidi, Fall 2005
Rebecca Scott, Spring 2005
Peter Burke, Fall 2004
Linda Gordon, Spring 2004
Simon J. Schaffer, Fall 2003
Richard White, Spring 2003
Patrick Geary, Fall 2002
Mary Elizabeth Berry, Spring 2002
Romila Thapar, Fall 2001
Sir Keith Thomas, Spring 2001