Apply Now: Davis Center Fellowship for Truth and Information

The deadline for receipt of applications and letters of recommendation for fellowships for 2024–25 is December 1, 2023, 11:59 p.m. ET.

Elizabeth Ellis Wins Two Book Prizes and One Honorable Mention

Her book, The Great Power of Small Nations: Indigenous Diplomacy in the Gulf South, examines the formation of Native American nations in the Lower Mississippi Valley.

Yonatan Glazer-Eytan Awarded 2023 Best Dissertation Prize from the Association for Spanish and Portuguese Historical Studies

The Prize Committee called his dissertation "a capacious and original study that excavates how the categories of the sacred and the profane were constructed – how sacrilege was understood and, even more importantly, the role that it played in the formation of the sacred."

Mintzker Named Head of Yeh College

Yair Mintzker, professor of history, has been named head of Yeh College, Princeton’s seventh residential college. He will begin his term on July 1, 2023.


2023 History Honors and Prizes

Congratulations to all members of the History Undergraduate Class of 2023.

Recent Accomplishments from Our Graduate Students and Alumni – June 2023

Congratulations to Olivier Burtin *17, Haris Durrani, Blake Grindon, and Hannah Stamler.

Faculty Books: June and July 2023

New books out and forthcoming by Peter Brown, Janet Chen, Philip Nord, Ekaterina Pravilova, and Natasha Wheatley.

Rosina Lozano Recognized for Outstanding Teaching

Lozano was one of four Princeton University faculty members who received President’s Awards for Distinguished Teaching at Commencement ceremonies Tuesday, May 30.

"Pushing Cool" Shortlisted for 2023 Hughes Prize

The prize is awarded every two years to the best book in the history of science that is accessible to a wide audience.

Recent Accomplishments from Our Graduate Students – May 2023

News about talks, fellowships, internships, and awards from graduate students Meher Ali, Emily R. Chesley, Zheng Guan, Hasan Hameed, Anastasiia Lystsova, Michael Mandelkorn, Jiya Pandya, Maia Silber, Liya Xie, and Robert Yee.

Scholars Debate John Witherspoon’s Contradictions on Slavery

‘In short, it’s complicated. Witherspoon is complicated,’ said Rev. Gordon Mikoski.

Faculty Author Q&A: Kevin M. Kruse and Julian Zelizer on “Myth America”

Their edited collection “Myth America: Historians Take On the Biggest Legends and Lies About Our Past” was published in January 2023 by Basic Books.

Laura Edwards Named 2023-24 Old Dominion Professor

During the yearlong program, Old Dominion Research Professors engage the campus community in discussion about their research through lectures or workshops and contribute to cross-disciplinary programs and events within the Council.

Caroline Kitchener '14 Wins Pulitzer in National Reporting

A reporter for The Washington Post, Kitchener was awarded the Pulitzer for her work on the abortion landscape following the fall of Roe v. Wade.

Zachariah Sippy Awarded Labouisse Prize for International Civic Engagement Project

The Labouisse Prize enables graduating seniors to pursue international civic engagement projects for one year following graduation.

Greene, Marcon, and Grafton Awarded Grants from Humanities Council

The grants will support an event series, a graduate workshop at a UNESCO World Heritage site, and a graduate seminar in Rome.

History Major William Nash Wins Gilder Lehrman College Fellowship in American History

The fellowship allows him to spend a month conducting research at the Gilder Lehrman Collection repository and other archives in New York City.

Faculty Books: May 2023

New books out and forthcoming by Laura Edwards, Anthony Grafton, and Harold James.

History Major Annabelle Duval Named Salutatorian

Commencement for the Class of 2023 will take place at Princeton Stadium on Tuesday, May 30. Duval will give the salutatorian address in Latin.

Linda Colley Elected to American Academy of Arts and Sciences

She is among the nearly 270 leaders in academia, the arts, business, government and public affairs elected this year in their respective fields.