Matthew Delvaux is one of four new scholars who have joined the Society of Fellows in the Liberal Arts this fall.

Safari Nation: A Social History of the Kruger National Park by Jacob Dlamini has been awarded the 2021 AHA's Martin A. Klein Prize in African History and the 2021 University of Johannesburg Book Prize.

Intimate States: Gender, Sexuality, and Governance in Modern US History edited by Margot Canaday, Nancy F. Cott, and Robert O. Self
The War of Words: A Glossary of Globalization by Harold James
Pushing Cool: Big Tobacco, Racial Marketing, and the Untold History of the Menthol Cigarette by Keith Wailoo
Tales of a Minstrel of Reims in the Thirteenth Century Introduced by William Chester Jordan, annotated by Randall Todd Pippenger, and translated from Old French by Samuel N. Rosenberg
Abraham Joshua Heschel: A Life of Radical Amazement by Julian E. Zelizer

She received her honorary degree alongside Former United States First Lady and Secretary of State Hillary Rodham Clinton, Professor Dame Sally Davies, Baronees Ruth Lister, Professor Anna Deavere Smith, and author Jeanette Winterson.

Mitchell is working on a book manuscript about enslaved Africans’ social, political and therapeutic responses to smallpox epidemics and how they endured and contested European public health and medical interventions in the Caribbean region.

Mota has devoted her career to the study of slavery in Brazil, which was the longest-lasting slave society in the Western world, spanning from the 16th century until 1888.

Historian Jacob Dlamini, born and raised in South Africa, seeks to tell nuanced stories about the apartheid era. His job is especially fraught.

Her book, Sailing School: Navigating Science and Skill, 1550-1800, was published in 2019 by Johns Hopkins University Press.

LaPointe's winning essay is “A Right to Speak: Toward a Political History of Former Slaves Before the American Civil War.”

Rosina Lozano, Associate Professor of History, was one of 23 scholars recently appointed to the OAH Distinguished Lectureship Program, a speakers bureau dedicated to sharing American history.