Blaakman and Edwards Receive Honors at 2024 OAH Conference on American History

April 15, 2024

Michael Blaakman, Assistant Professor of History, was awarded the Frederick Jackson Turner Prize for "Speculation Nation: Land Mania in the Revolutionary American Republic" (University of Pennsylvania Press). The prize recognizes the best first book in American History. In its citation, the award committee called the book an "important and revelatory study" that "explains how property, finance, and racism developed in early America."

The Society for Historians of the Gilded Age and Progressive Era (SHGAPE) selected Laura F. Edwards as its Distinguished Historian, the highest honor the Society offers. Edwards gave the Distinguished Historian Address at the SHGAPE Luncheon at the 2024 annual meeting of the Organization of American Historians. Edwards is the Class of 1921 Bicentennial Professor in the History of American Law and Liberty and Professor of History.