Benjamin Bernard Receives Honorable Mention for Gregory Sprague Prize

Jan. 12, 2022

The 2022 Gregory Sprague Prize Honorable Mention was awarded to Benjamin Bernard in recognition of their dissertation chapter “The Sodomy Consultant of Paris: The Abbé Nicolas Theru and the Policing of Morals at the Collège Mazarin, 1688-1737.” The Prize Committee praised the chapter for its “rigorous archival work and groundbreaking approach” to “re-center[ing] the history of moral policing onto the early modern college.”

The Gregory Sprague Prize recognizes an outstanding published or unpublished paper, article, book chapter, or dissertation chapter on lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgendered, transsexual, and/or queer history completed in English by a graduate student in 2020 or 2021. The members of the Gregory Sprague Prize Committee for 2020-21 were Cookie Woolner, chair (University of Memphis); Samuel Clowes Huneke (George Mason University); and Beans Velocci (University of Pennsylvania).

The prize was awarded at the 2022 American Historical Association (AHA) Meeting.