Kevin M. Kruse Named Old Dominion Research Professor

April 29, 2019

Old Dominion Professors 2019-20

The Humanities Council is pleased to announce the 2019-2020 Old Dominion Research Professors. They are Rachael Z. DeLue, Kevin M. Kruse, Steven Mackey, and D. Vance Smith.

Old Dominion Professors will join the year-long program which provides additional research time and enhances the humanities community more broadly. They will also serve as Faculty Fellows in the Society of Fellows in the Liberal Arts.

During the next academic year, this core group of senior faculty will contribute to the Council’s programs and events and engage colleagues and students from across the University in sustained discussions about their work:

Rachael Z. DeLue, Christopher Binyon Sarofim ’86 Professor in American Art
Project: Impossible Images and the Perils of Picturing

Kevin M. Kruse, Professor of History
Project: The Division: John Doar, the Justice Department, and the Civil Rights Movement

Steven Mackey, William Shubael Conant Professor of Music
Project: Concertos for Underdogs: Timpani and Trumpet

D. Vance Smith, Professor of English
Project: Modernity’s African Unconscious

Old Dominion Professors are appointed for a term of one year, one semester of which would otherwise have been devoted to a regular sabbatical leave. The Professorship extends that leave to one full year. Old Dominion Professors are expected to be in residence for the year and to engage in the intellectual life of the Council and the university.

Read more at the Humanities Council.