The following prizes, the Carter Combe Prize and Koren Prize, are awarded for work done in the junior year. Prizes are announced in the fall of senior year.

Carter Combe Prize

A prize established in memory of Carter Kim Combe, Class of 1974, awarded annually to the student who writes the best second-term junior independent work in history.

Recent Winners

Sam Bisno, 2022–2023
"'Herself and Mr. Reed': Frustration and Freedom at the Beaufort Freedman’s Bank, 1864-1873"
Advised by Alison Isenberg

Johanne Kjaersgaard, 2021-2022
"For the Maintenance of Stability and Prosperity: Securing Hong Kong Exports in the Sino-British Joint Declaration of 1984"
Advised by He Bian

Joseph Shipley, 2020-2021
“'Glory to our Printing Press': Paper Money in the Early Soviet Union, 1917-1938"
Advised by Igor Khristoforov

Alec Israeli, 2019-2020
"'A New Era in the Struggle for Freedom': American Radicals and the Paris June Days of 1848"
Advised by Sean Wilentz

Ben Press, 2018-2019
"Upon Account of His Complexion: Slave Conspiracies, Fear, and the Racialization of Suffrage in Colonial Virginia"
Advised by Stanley Katz

Mikaela Gerwin, 2017-2018
"Parallel Recountings of Violence: 1391 in the City of Valencia"
Advised by William Chester Jordan

Sarah M. Dinovelli, 2016-2017
"The Woes of War-Time Radio: NBC and the Financial Challenges of Broadcasting News During World War II"
Advised by Emily Thompson

Daniel R. Elkind, 2015-2016
"Amandus of Maastricht and the Politics of Mission, ca. 628-638 AD"
Advised by Helmut Reimitz

Ryan Low, 2014-2015
"Episcopal Jurisdiction and Legal Reform at the Second Council of Mâcon"
Advised by Helmut Reimitz

Brett Diehl, 2013-2014
"Policing Political Dissent from Above and Below in Rio de Janeiro, 1927-1933"
Advised by Jeremy Adelman


William Koren, Jr., Memorial Prize in History

A prize given annually by Henry Lloyd Thornell Koren, Class of 1933, in memory of William Koren Jr. Class of 1930, is awarded to the student who attains the best record in the departmental work of junior year.

Recent Winners

Sam Bisno, 2023-2024

Samuel Harshbarger, 2023-2024

Alice McGuinness, 2023-2024

Noah Maxwell, 2023-2024

Austin Davis, 2022-2023

Annabelle Duval, 2022-2023

Johanne Kjaersgaard, 2022-2023

Elizabeth Baxter, 2021-2022

Alec Israeli, 2020-2021

Kenji Cataldo, 2019-2020

Katherine Reed, 2018-2019